April 27

Aebleskiver

Aebleskivers are pancake puffs that are popular in Denmark, which part of my Thomsen family is from.  My Grandpa Tom gave my mom an aebleskiver pan and recipe when she first married my dad and told her that all Thomsen women know how to make them, so she did.  She makes them for us about once a week and they are one of my favorite breakfasts.  They are made in a pan with little round holes and they are basically a pancake ball with jelly inside them.   We’ve tried filling them with honey, peanut butter and just leaving them plain but jelly is my favorite.  The batter is made of flour, eggs, milk, butter and a little cinnamon.  In the olden days they flipped them over using a knitting needle but my mom does it with a special tool.  I also read that in the olden days they filled them with applesauce which we might try soon.  I just thought of another filling that would be good – Nutella!

images download (2) download (3) download (4)

 


Posted April 27, 2016 by lucast15 in category Uncategorized

5 thoughts on “Aebleskiver

  1. fordycej

    Dear Lucas,
    Wow! Aebleskivers look absolutely delicious. I’ve never heard of them before. I’m so happy for you that the tradition of making them was passed down through your family. I think I’d like them with jelly and maybe a little cream cheese.
    Let us know if you try them with Nutella! Have you ever made them with your mom?

    Happy trails,
    Mrs. Fordyce

    Reply
  2. coens15

    Dear Lucas,
    I love eating pancake puffs with whip cream on the top or inside. And yes I have eaten animal buns with animal faces on it some of them were pig dumplings, cicada, bunny dumplings and bumblebee dumplings. Whats another filling you like to put in your pancake puffs\Ableskivers?
    Happy experimenting!
    From,
    Coen

    Reply
  3. Stefano Online

    Hi Lucas, I’m Stefano Online. I think that these aebleskivers sound really good and I would really like to try them. I also agree with you that Nutella would definitely be a very good filling. You can come visit me at http://stefanoonlinep.edublogs.org/.
    -Stefano Online

    Reply
  4. Grandpa Tom

    Holy smokes! Great blog. Your great, great grandmother taught me how to make hot cakes but not aebleskivers. Truly Danish, they make for a great breakfast. And you are right, all Thomsen women know how to make aebleskivers. One time at my grandmother’s house I ate 32. I’m not sure but that might be a record. Grandma Connie makes them but not once a week. Your mom must be a converted Dane. Grandpa T.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*